Discover Horezu in Romania
The “Adormirea Maicii Domnului” Infirmary Church
Weather in the Horezu Depression
Cost of gas: 4.70 ron/l
1696–1699, located in ROMANII DE JOS, a satellite village of the town of HOREZU
The Infirmary Church of the Hurezi Monastery was founded by Princess Maria, Constantin Brâncoveanu’s wife, being also included on the historical monuments list.
The Church is dedicated to the Assumption of the Virgin and lies outside the monastery walls, on the eastern side. The infirmary complex consists of a pavilion, built to the south-west of the precinct, of the cells and of the church. Next to the church is the cemetery. The Infirmary Church was founded by Princess Maria, and the construction works were supervised by the abbot of the monastery, the Archimandrite Ioan. The building was started on 20th September 1696 and they were ended only in 1699 with the painting of the church by the painters Preda, Nicolae and Efrem, who are mentioned in the list above the naos door.